Free shipping for all ordes over $500+

2023 FIFA Womens World Cup: USA almost shocked by Portugal; Netherlands win Group E

2023 FIFA Womens World Cup: USA almost shocked by Portugal; Netherlands win Group E

Unlike many other sports, the men’s football tournament at the Olympics is not a top-level tournament, and since 1992, an under-23 tournament with each team allowed three over-age players.[55] Women’s football made its Olympic debut in 1996. July 26, 2023 • The U.S. defeated the Netherlands in 2019 for its second consecutive World Cup title. Now the two teams are battling in the group stage as the U.S. looks to shake off a sluggish win over Vietnam. August 2, 2023 • “For them, it’s just the beginning. For me, it’s the end of the line now,” said Marta after her team’s tie with Jamaica. At the end of each World Cup, awards are presented to the players and teams for accomplishments other than their final team positions in the tournament.

The last round of matches of each group is scheduled at the same time to preserve fairness among all four teams.[74] The top two teams from each group advance to the knockout stage. Since 1994, three points have been awarded for a win, one for a draw and none for a loss (before, winners received two points). The World Cup in football (soccer) is a quadrennial tournament of 32 men’s national teams that is organized by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).

July 26, 2023 • The top-ranked & two-time defending champion U.S. played to a 1-1 draw with the Netherlands. It was the first tie for the U.S. at the Women’s World Cup since 2015 and was a rematch of the 2019 final. Men’s football has been included in every Summer Olympic Games except 1896 and 1932.

The host nation(s) automatically qualify for the group stage of the tournament. The next FIFA World Cup is scheduled to expand to 48 teams for the 2026 tournament. Qualifying for the World Cup is a long process during the years between each quadrennial tournament. Each of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association’s six confederations determines its own qualification system, which produces the men’s teams that represent each confederation’s region. The six confederations are Africa; Asia; Europe; North America, Central America, and the Caribbean; Oceania; and South America. The World Cup was first televised in 1954 and as of 2006[update] is the most widely viewed and followed sporting event in the world.

football world cup

ET Tuesday for the U.S.’s crucial game against Portugal at the Women’s World Cup. Below is everything you need including the full World Cup 2023 schedule, start times, dates, how to watch and much more.

  • (Uruguay, however, choose to display four stars on their badge, representing their two gold medals at the 1924 and 1928 Summer Olympics, which are recognised by FIFA as World Championships, and their two World Cup titles in 1930 and 1950).
  • Italy (1934 and 1938) and Brazil (1958 and 1962) are the only nations to have won consecutive titles.
  • When FIFA announced the increase in 2019, people were worried the quality of the soccer tournament would suffer.
  • But a World Cup title has eluded the Brazilian superstar, and at 37, this may be her last shot at it.

For each tournament, FIFA decides the number of places awarded to each of the continental zones beforehand, generally based on the relative strength of the confederations’ teams. Seventeen countries have hosted the World Cup, most recently Qatar, who hosted the 2022 event. The 2026 tournament will be jointly hosted by Canada, the United States and Mexico, which will give Mexico the distinction of being the first country to host games in three World Cups. The trophy cup awarded from 1930 to 1970 was the Jules Rimet Trophy, named for the Frenchman who proposed the tournament. This cup was permanently awarded in 1970 to then three-time winner Brazil (1958, 1962, and 1970), and a new trophy called the FIFA World Cup was put up for competition. July 21, 2023 • The USWNT is hoping its mix of veterans and rookies will become the first team to win three straight World Cups.

If teams still cannot be separated, the team with the greater number of goals scored will be placed higher in the group. The full list of tie-breakers can be found on the FIFA tournament portal here. Italy (1934 and 1938) and Brazil (1958 and 1962) are the only nations to have won consecutive titles. West Germany (1982–1990) and Brazil (1994–2002) are the only nations to appear in three consecutive World Cup finals. Germany has made the most top-four finishes (13), medals (12), as well as the most finals (8).

World Cup prize money comes from the earnings of the nonprofit Fédération Internationale de Football Association. FIFA’s revenue is generated by high bids for television, marketing, and licensing rights for major football events that FIFA organizes. FIFA does not incur expenses for the construction of World Cup infrastructure, as those fall on the host country.

July 21, 2023 • The two-time defending champion U.S. opened group play in the Women’s World Cup with a sluggish performance over Vietnam. The U.S. brings a mix of newcomers and veterans to this year’s tournament. July 23, 2023 • A record 32 countries are participating in this year’s Women’s World Cup – up from 24. When FIFA announced the increase in 2019, people were worried the quality of the soccer tournament would suffer. July 26, 2023 • Referees have wide discretion to add extra game time due to injuries, substitutions and lengthy celebrations after goals. At this tournament, referees are tacking on a lot more than previous tourneys.

As of the 2022 FIFA World Cup, 22 final tournaments have been held since the event’s inception in 1930, and a total of 80 national teams have competed. Brazil, with five wins, are the only team to have played in every tournament. The other World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, with four titles each; Argentina, with three titles; France and inaugural winner Uruguay, each with two titles; and England and Spain, with one title each. The first competition for the cup was organized in 1930 by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) and was won by Uruguay. Held every four years since that time, except during World War II, the competition consists of international sectional tournaments leading to a final elimination event made up of 32 national teams. Unlike Olympic football, World Cup teams are not limited to players of a certain age or amateur status, so the competition serves more nearly as a contest between the world’s best players.

Share This :

Leave a Comment

Item added to cart.
0 items - RM0.00

TL Food Order, a Final Year Project created by Lee Jin Shiun and Tan Hong Sheng.


  • Try your lucky to get discount coupon
  • 5 spin per email
  • 3 days per spin
Try Your Lucky
Remind later
No thanks